The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author beleives that the consumption in power in an area will be same or may decarease and construcation of new producation plants will not be necessary for managing power supply. While he reason for his statement, he makes some unstated assumption which may not be true, and cause serious impact on the legitimacy of the conclusion. Some of these being, he assumes that no new houses were added to the area; existing houses replaced all their old gadgets with new ones or no one bought new appliances; The survey conducted on which his assumption are based may be biased or of a small demographic.

The author basis his words on a surveys conducted which show people are eager to conserve energy. Though it is not mentioned that the survery was conducted in the area which is in consideration, and if it was indeed in the area- did everyone get to participate in the survey? These question are unanswered which makes the result and basing anything on the survery ambiguous. Rather the author should conduct a proper survery or refer to a well accepted survey of the area on the relevant subject matter.

The author assumes that no new housed were build in the givne area over the period of past two decades so no new power plant will be required as the power consumption will remain more or less similar. This however has no basis, human population is ever growing and new houses are building constantly, and demand for power may be greater than ever. In the recent years the power plants may have maxed out their potential production, and need for a new one may be inevitable. So, it is unwise by the author to think that power requirement with decrease with time even if people use electricity judiciously. For, example earlier the areas may have 600 houses with 3 power plants, but after a deacde it may have 1200 houses, so now the power plants have double load on them to sustain the supply of power.

Though new appliances which need less energy are being advertised by manufacturers, it doesn't ensure how less power will be consumed in the future. People may not be able to replace their old equiment with new ones as it can be very costly and everyone cannot afford it. The new equiment may be availble in certain areas and not in the area concerned with. So, assuming that new equipment will reduce power supply is not correct. Indeed people will add even more electrical equipment to their homes for luxury, comfort and amenity. Which will increase load on the existing power grid. The author mentions how new better insulation and passive heating systems are available now, people may install these in old houses which didn't have any heating earlier and start to use it a lot thinking it is cheap on the bills. Ultimately increasing power usage.