The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that countryside is the best place for retires in the case of health care because it has many advantages such as tranquility, climate and so forth. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which, more critical, yet ignored question need to be addressed.

First, the author contends that it should be a top choice because of no pollution and attractive landscape. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since, a question that might arise is whether vast majorities of retires opt for a place in countryside. One point that should be consider is that the author does not provide any information or statistics about retires who prefer to choose clear views. In fact, there is possibility that most of them select second job and start new career after retirement. It is also important to say that people's taste differ from each other perhaps retires prefer not to live in countryside because of paucity of facilities, which will make living harder.

The author also asserts that houses' costs have decreased during past years and people pay lower taxes compare to other counties. Although it might seems tenable at face, it has some defects, since you can always ask this question if expenses and taxes will remain constant without any fluctuation. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that there is no guarantee to ensure retires that expenses and houses' costs do not increase drastically in current years. Indeed, what if the city face economic recession or inflation after those years. Alongside that, evidences shown that taxes have raised day in day out and it will not diminish in future time.

Finally, as set forth by the author the mayor ensure people to develop everything such as streets, public services and so forth. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled question if this mayor could be reliable and he/she is commitment toward his/her promises. One point that should not go unnoticed is that maybe the mayor make promise in order to save his/her position and encourage people in order to vote him/her. In fact, there is possibility that mayor does not be commitment and forget everything after election.

Having scrutinized the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there is a number of question, having been ignored by the author while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.