The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals.

"One year ago we introduced our first product, Bargain Brand breakfast cereal. Our very low prices quickly drew many customers away from the top-selling cereal companies. Although the companies producing the top brands have since tried to compete with us by lowering their prices and although several plan to introduce their own budget brands, not once have we needed to raise our prices to continue making a profit. Given our success in selling cereal, we recommend that Bargain Brand now expand its business and begin marketing other low-priced food products as quickly as possible."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given argument is based on a memo addressed to the board of directors of Bargain Brand Cereals. The memo attributes the past success of the company largely to its low cereal prices. The memo uses this success as a premise to propound the idea that the company should diversify and start selling other low-priced food products in the market. At first glance, the argument put forth in the memo seems coherent and convincing. However, on scrutiny, it is found to be rife with unwarranted assumptions and flawed logic. Only after a careful analysis, can a decision be made about the future implications of this recommendation.

First and the most fundamentally flawed assumption made by the author is that the success of Bargain Brand's breakfast cereal due to low prices guarantees success of the company in other food products. This type of one-size-fits-all market planning faces great challenges in the long term which might thwart the ambitions of the company. Before venturing into a new market, in this case, sale of different food products, one must carefully evaluate the market for that product. It might be possible that target population for breakfast cereals differs vastly from the target population for any other food product. Such a scenario would render the company's previous experience with breakfast cereals moot going forward.

Secondly, the company must also keep in mind that the competition differs in each sector of the market. They might have gotten away with predatory pricing strategies in the case of breakfast cereals, but same cannot be said with certainty in case of other food products. Rival firms in other food markets might decide to go for other strategies to counter Bargain Brand's unique selling point (USP) of low prices. For example, companies in business of selling meat products might look to stress on their quality and freshness. Such a marketing stint would prove harmful to a company promoting their products as cheap alternatives, since it would create an impression of low quality in the minds of the consumer.

Thirdly, the assumption that one can continue to make profits without having to raise their prices seems credulous. Although this assumption might hold in case of a company with only one product in its market portfolio, the same cannot be said once a company diversifies.

Lastly, the author provides no concrete data to support his/her/their assumptions with any concrete data. The use of vague words like 'many', 'several' acts as a red flag in the given memo. There is no quantification provided in terms of how much market has the company actually managed to capture. No mention of any survey that strengthens the author's belief that customers actually prefer low-priced new products over their trusted products, even if slightly more expensive. Without reliable quantification, author's assumptions can be called naive at best.

Hence, the author’s recommendation is based entirely on some assumptions and the author has failed to support his assumptions with concrete evidence. The author should have analysed the market and understood the attitude of customers of different food products before making the suggestion of venturing into new market with the company's old strategy.