In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument put forth by the author states that Prunty County should follow the example of Butler County to improve the highway security and consequently, to bring down the likelihood of accidents in the County highways. Five years ago Butler County had introduced some major steps to improve its highway security, including but not limited to increasing the width of the lanes and improving visibility for the drivers at possible blind spots. According to the author, these steps have played the primary role in curbing the number of accidents in Butler County, and therefore, the authorities in Prunty County should undertake the same steps to ensure highway safety.

At first glance, the recommendation put forth by the author certainly seems plausible. However, on evaluating the given suggestion more carefully, it seems that the premise upon which the recommendation has been made leaves a lot to be desired. There are myriads of questions that need to be answered before the efficacy of the recommendation can be determined.

First and foremost, it is important to evaluate the clout of the report that asserts that Butler County has witnessed 25 percent fewer accidents in the past year. The author clearly mentions that 25 percent fewer accidents were reported in the past year, with "reported" being the operative word here. Just because the past year saw 25 percent lesser accidents being reported doesn't mean that the likelihood of the occurrence of an accidence has reduced. It just might be possible that the population of the County or the number of vehicles on the roads as a whole might have decreased within the past five years thereby skewing the data. On top of that, the credibility of the report can also be questioned. If it can be ascertained that the reported numbers are, indeed, credible and that the number of vehicles on the road in Butler County have essentially been equal to or more than there were 5 years ago, it would render the argument more credibility.

Secondly, the example of Butler County is five years old. The changes that have taken place within these five years have not been discussed by the author. It might be possible that the apparent decline in the number of accidents is a result of other variables. One cannot say with certainty that the steps mentioned by the author had a direct correlation with the decrease in the percentage of accidents reported.

Thirdly, one must also evaluate the practicability of the Butler County road improvement project in the Prunty County. It is highly possible, that increasing the width of highway lanes is not feasible in Prunty Country. Also, it is possible that the types of vehicle driven in Butler County vary from that of Prunty County. For example, there is a possibility that people generally drive high end vehicles with a plethora of safety features and in contrast, Prunty highways mostly witness commercial vehicles or low end cheap vehicles that are generally more susceptible to accidents.

All the aforementioned discrepancies need to be addressed before the suggestion propounded by the author can be called a good one.