Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

At first glance, the recommendation put forth by the station manager of KICK certainly seems reasonable. However, on evaluating the given paragraph more carefully, it seems that the premise upon which the recommendation has been made leaves a lot to be desired. There are a myriad of questions that need to be answered before the efficacy of the recommendation can be determined.

First and foremost, one must ask whether or not call-in advice programs were the only reason for the increase in WCQP's radio audience. There is a possibility that during the time WCQP introduced its call-in advice programs, it also decided to make some other changes that might have boosted its radio audience. If no such changes were made, WCQP's increased share can be attributed entirely to the call-in advice programs it introduced.

Secondly, one must also question the authenticity of the nationwide survey cited by the station manager. Without knowing the specifics of the survey, for example, the sample size, the demographics of the survey audience, the credibility of the organization/institute that carried out the survey, it is highly credulous to make this survey a prop for introducing the idea of call-in advice programs. If the survey is, in fact, carried out by a reliable institute with sample consisting of people from diverse demographics, then the survey can serve as a reasonable premise for the suggestion propounded by the station manager.

Lastly, one must also dispute the degree of clout a two-year-old case holds in the current settings. WCQP's case and the cited survey might have been relevant two years ago, but there is no guarantee that the conclusions drawn from them have not become obsolete. If one can learn anything from the past few decades, it's that people are capricious and their preferences change very quickly. The introduction of social media has specially played a major role in this. What is cool today, might get outmoded tomorrow. Call-in advice programs might have been the talk of the country two years ago, but they might not ensure greater share of radio audience today. One should therefore ensure the relevance of the quoted survey and the example listed in today’s age.

The answers that the aforementioned questions elicit are required to evaluate the judiciousness of the recommendation put forth by KICK’s station manager.