The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of a company that specializes in the delivery of heating oil.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season, that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we can safely predict that this region will experience an increased demand for heating oil during the next five years."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer recommended an investment in consolidated industries with a major business of selling home oils. these oils are used for a fuel for heating because most homes in the northeastern United states are very cold for 90 days if seen from the last heating season and this pattern will continue to for several years according to the climate forecasters cited in the text . by analyzing it, it can be seen that the argument of the writer in this case have 3 major flaws.

First of all, the author stated they traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. this statement is ambiguous because of the word traditional. are they still using oil for heating as of today? that question will suddenly pop out in ones head after seeing that sentence. if the people living there no longer uses oil nowadays, then the recommendation made by the writer might be invalid.

Second, by any chance the people living there still uses oil to heat up during cold seasons. why not propose a new concept of heating which is more cost effective such as using electricity? this is another question that is to see if the writer take account of how cost effective this concept is. While oil is a natural resource that could take decades to form. electricity, on the other hand, can be created by watermills, windmills and solar panels. although electricity requires some initial investment for devices, the writer cited that the climate forecasters predict that the weather pattern will continue for several more years. therefore, based on the conditions mentioned in the text, electricity should be more efficient and cost less.

Additionally, the writer also mentioned that many new homes will be built because the increase in population in that area. Since these homes are yet to be built, why not instead discuss how to built these new houses using architecture or civil engineering to prevent heat loss inside these houses? building it in such a way so that the inside could still be warm although the outside is cold, or at least find a way to mitigate the effect of the cold weather inside the house.

To conclude, the recommendation made by the author is not really suited to the condition stated by him/herself. As of now, the arguments are not valid due to the lack of consideration and information. therefore, a request for revising the proposal should be made and will be discussed later.