The following appeared in a memo from the Dean of Residential Life at Radsliffe College.

“To continue to meet the needs of our students who require housing, we must update our housing system to not only meet safety standards but also to provide amenities that appeal to students. These are often the deciding factor when making the choice of whether to stay on campus or off-campus. By understanding the amenities students want and incorporating them into our updated housing, we can discourage students from moving off-campus, resulting in a closer-knit community on campus and more revenue for student programming.

Discuss the additional evidence or information needed to establish if the argument reasonable.

College campus and the infrastructure provided by the university has to be good enough for a student to continue his/her studies. So the Dean at Radsliffe College is concerned about the fact that students are moving outside the college. Because it affects their revenue of the college and also in terms of growth, he/she also wants to improve the infrastructure by adding basic amenities in the housing system by keeping updated to the current trends. These things are essential for a college and its a responsibility of the College to provide improved environment for the students to nurture and grow. Since not every college is present in urban, few college which lies around 100 miles away from the city should not lack in providing the fundamentals for the students.

Yet there are several factors which plays in deciding whether a students will revert or persist to stay inside the campus, students who are actually in the college might not be only keen on housing, they are also in need of several opportunities for their livelihood and curriculum. Students who are pursuing Master’s try to get an internship or a job nearby place, so they might start relocating for the job, also people who do project works, course works and experiments might stay out of college to get good practical exposure whatever they are not able to get in the college environment. These are some factors which I would like to highlight, because these things serves a major purpose in any students lives. In addition, not every student can afford a costly environment because we should also think about the students under poverty. So including all the basic amenities might not help in bringing the students to college housing.

Providing the students with practical exposures, by availing teaching or research oriented assistantships and bringing down the housing fees for merit students who possess good marks and also by cutting down some fees as scholarship for the under poverty students will be helpful for the students and also might solve the issue. Broadening the opportunities for a student will cause an affinity towards the college. Because a student’s motto is to learn and enhance his/her knowledge and career, if he/she gets the same level of infrastructure in the college, there is not second thoughts about the decision.

To conclude, basic amenities like Wi-Fi, living basics, gym and swimming pool are just one part of the livelihood. For a student there are variety of things required like job, research, merit based scholarships, scholarships for under poverty students. These are few basic issues which is being faced by the students which has to be addressed by the college in addition to the suggestions whatever Dean of Radsliffe College has proposed.