The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memo from the director of large group of hospitals, it is stated that a new UltraClean soap have produced a better result in killing the harmful bacteria in comparison to the current liquid hand soaps used in the hospitals. However, this argument is based on certain assumptions and lacks evidence which might render the argument unconvincing.

Firstly, the argument fails to provide a validity on the study conducted by the controlled laboratory. Perhaps, UltraClean hand soap is not the only soap that kills bacteria more effectively than any other hand wash. There is a possibility that the efficacy of the soap solely depends on the concentration of a certain chemical present in the soap. If a liquid hand wash had the same concentration of that chemical it could perhaps produce the same effect as that of the UltraClean hand soap. The author also fails to mention any evidence on the reliability of the closed laboratory. It is plausible that the laboratory might have had a discrepancy and published the wrong results.

Secondly, the argument assumes the soap to be effective in terms of destroying only bacteria, it doesn’t take into account on the effectiveness of the soap on various other viruses present. The argument backs up the study and its efficacy only by the increase of 40 percent in the killing of bacteria. The argument also needs to provide more information and on whether the ultraclean soap will be able to destroy the numerous viruses that are present along with the bacteria.

Moreover, the argument prematurely assumes that the use of this UltraClean hand soap has led to the reduction in patient infection in contrast to other hospitals in their group. However, this might not hold true as the argument fails to provide any justification on whether the hospital in worktown is roughly comparable to their other hospital. In other words, circumstances in one cannot be used to generalise and make prediction about other branches. Perhaps, there is a possibility that while the Ultra clean soap was being tested or used in the hospital, the number of patients visiting the hospital might have gone down because of a better performance by their other branches.

Had the argument provided statistical details of the ultraclean soap being tested in various other hospitals and not just the one hospital in worktown. They could have analysed the soap considering various aspects. Even then the argument would have had to provide information about how effective the soap would have been in dealing with other deadly viruses.

In conclusion, as the argument stands now is flawed because of its several unwarranted assumptions and wanting of more empirical evidence on the efficacy of the UltraClean soap. If the author is able to provide substantial evidence for the above made assumptions then the argument could be fully evaluated. However, since it fails to do so it forms an unconvincing case.