People should undertake risky action only after they have carefully considered its consequences.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

In the present contemporary and fast paced world, important decisions sometimes might have to be taken in a slapdash and hasty manner. The author here asserts that you should resort to a risky action only after carefully considering its consequences. I strongly agree with the suggestion that the decisions to be taken should be scrutinized beforehand in order to study the impact of its consequences to check if it holds a positive outcome.

To being with, taking risky decisions without examining its repercussions can sometimes put you in a precarious situation. For instance, take the astronauts who travel above and beyond the horizon. Before actually leaving the earth’s atmosphere in a spaceship, they undergo rigorous training for around 6 to 7 years. During this period the researchers and the astronauts try to study the effects of outer space on their bodies, without conducting such studies it would be quite remiss of them to go to a place where very few humans have ever been. If these scrupulous studies are not conducted beforehand, then there is a possibility that the astronauts may come in contact with some kind of an outlandish factor which maybe be debilitating to their health or well-being and put their life’s in danger. Therefore, it is made sure that the space crew is thoroughly examined before their mission begins.

Similarly, it is important to allot some time towards contemplative thought before taking a decision even in day to day life. To illustrate consider an example of a stock investor, If the investor does not spend enough time studying the statistical data of a company before investing a large sum of money into it, there is a chance that the company might have been already failing and he was dilatory in noticing it, then it quite is likely that he might lose all the money that he has put in. However, if he had been a little considerate and taken time to look into to the company’s data to see if the company was doing well or not and then taken a decision whether to invest or not could have saved him money and this could be used elsewhere.

Nonetheless, one might argue that withholding from taking risky decisions might hinder faster and quicker progress, to some extent this might be true but the question here is at what cost? Despite taking longer a time, analysis and scrutiny into the consequences will help yield a better result. Stepping into something after taking a precipitous decision will only put you in an unknown and possibly dangerous situation.