In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the past and as well as in the contemporary world learning and gaining knowledge has always contributed towards the growth of the world. Exploring and learning new things ameliorates the quality the life. The prompt here suggests that imagination is more superior to knowledge. However, it is knowledge that facilitates imagination, without proper knowledge in a particular field one cannot expand his imagination.

To begin with, imagination begins on the basis knowledge, one cannot come up with a random imagination unless and until it is backed or corroborated by knowledge. For instance, take Formula 1 racing cars, back in the 1950’s the cars were quite small and not so safe for drivers at that time. Nonetheless, the cars now in the 21st century have evolved to a very large extent, today's formula 1 cars are much bigger, swifter, efficient and extremely safe for the drivers. This has been made possible by years of scrutiny and constant research into the vehicles by the engineers which enabled them to think out of the box and come up with better designs in order to improve the performance and safety of the car. Without appropriate comprehension of a subject one cannot think innovatively.

Furthermore, in fields such as medical and research it is knowledge that plays an eminent role than imagination, the former plays a very important task when dealing with something hands on. For example, take the surgeries performed by various doctors, surgeons cannot rely on their imagination while operating on someone. They work on the basis of their profound knowledge that they gained over the years. What they do is solely contingent upon what they have learnt and experienced as a trainee rather than coming up with their own visualization to fix problems. In such fields of study, it is quite difficult to be dependent on conception or vision to provide solutions to certain obstacles.

However, one might certainly argue that imagination servers to increase knowledge. This holds true in certain cases but not necessarily everywhere. Students when they are at an age of being at high school have a shrewd mind and have the capability to think creatively and differently. Being able to do so helps them to choose what courses to take up in college in order to meet up with their imaginations. Students who are curious about what their minds have fabricated tend to work towards their idea by taking up courses related to it. This helps to shape their career path and decide what they want to do eventually.

When looked on by a broader perspective it is quite evident that Knowledge and imagination go hand in hand. Often it is knowledge that drives imagination which helps in the development and innovation of a lot of things. Without consummate knowledge one will always be wanting of imagination.