The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanation that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The following appeared in memo from the director of large group of hospitals. Author made conclusion that, UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid soap currently used in our hospitals. The reduction in patient infections is the use of UltrClean soap. There are several alternate reason for reduction in patient infection which author take in to consideration while concluding argument.

Firstly, author state that in a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soap, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soap currently used in our hospital. In controlled laboratory means in fixed amount of group the liquid hand soap, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraCean hand soap produced greater reduction of harmful bacteria. We don't know while it came to general purpose. If study conducted among the people who are physically fit, free from any disease then effect always shows positivity of Concentrated solution of extra strength.

Secondly, Author states that during of recent test of regular-strength Ultraclean with doctors, nurse, and visitors at our hospitals in work town, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection( a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. It is possibility of there are previously several complaints from patients about cleanliness of hospital. Management comity started activity in which they include several other things such as notes, awareness chart. so that people also follow the standard guideline while entering in to hospitals.

Thirdly, author state that the explanation for the 20 percent reduction in patient infection is the use of UltraClean soap. By introducing UltraClean soap, whether it really helpful for reducing patient infection. Involving money in to introducing Ultraclean soap, leads to costly for hospital. Patient infection reduced when people aware about disease, it's effect. So that by implementing hospital regulation, infection will reduced.

In conclusion, author need to check several alternate option while concluding argument. Author did not consider other factor so that argument became week argument.