The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals. "In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The director of a large group of hospitals asseverates that UltraClean should be exploited at all hand-washing stations throughout the hospital system since on the basis of some field test results done at a hospital in Worktown, fewer cases of patient infection have been reported after the doctors, nurses, and vistors used UltraClean hand soap. The author, however, needs to appraise several pieces of evidence before attempting to arrive at the argument that UltraClean hand soap should be widely used in the hospital system.

First and foremost, the director cites in the memo that a controlled laboratory study reveals that a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap could significantly reduce more harmful bacteria than those currently used in the hospitals. Though the result of this study might seem compelling, however, one piece of evidence that is missing in order to fully corroborate the soundness of the finding is that where the study was conducted was in a controlled environment, which is nothing like that in an open environment such as that in hospitals, where patrons and staff walk in and out frequently. Without the evidence to substantiate that the same reduction effect could also transpire when UltraClean hand soap is used in a less-controlled environment, the argument that the hospitals should switch to using UltraClean hand soap should be taken with a grain of salt.

Another evidence that should be equally weighed lies in the recent test done at the hospital in Worktown. Granted, the result turned out to be positive, where the use of UltraClean minimize the reportage of patient infection (specifically, twenty-percent reduction), but there is no such evidence to attest to the causality between using UltraClean hand soap and the reduction of the patient infection. Fewer cases of patient reduction might have sprung from when the ailments that Worktown hospital patients suffer from are less likely to induce infection. These patients might just suffer from minor conditions such as stomach, migraine, or fracture. whereas patients at other hospitals are afflicted with open wounds, severe scratches, and the like, the complications of which might be more susceptible to infection. Therefore, certainty of the causal relation between doctors, nurses, and visitors using UltraClean hand soap and patients reporting less incidence of infection might be compromised. Besides, Worktown might have designed better and clear-cut quarantine areas, in which patients are better protected from infection, such as the use of ultraviolet lighting or a whole-body disinfection spray. Whatever the case is, the evidence of direct causality between the hospital staff members using UltraClean hand soap and the patients suffering less from infection should be furnished in order to the argument to be cemented.

The last piece of evidence that is needed for evaluation lies in the application of UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors. Specifically, mandating hospital staff and medical practitioners to use the recommended hand soap might be efficacious in preventing serious patient infections, were the efficacy of the UltraClean Soap well-established. Those medical practitioners might also be wary of the consequences of patients contracting infection. However, whether such effect is likely to hold for visitors should be thoroughly discussed since visitors come from different places. Whether using UltraClean hand soap solely for visitors is still debatable. Besides, it is likely that after a certain spell of time, the bacteria will have developed antibody and the UltraClean hand soap might not be positively effective as it is showcased in the memo. Therefore, the author should also consider whether such efficacy of UltraClean hand soap would endure or not before averring to ask all the hospitals chasing to UltraClean.

All told, the argument in the memo seems ostensible appealing; however, a closer examination reveals that certain pieces of evidence are wanting in order for a full justification of the argument. These arguments entail, if not limited to, the extendability of the controlled test result to real hospital environment, the underlying root of patient infection and their conditions, and finally, the applicability of UltraClean hand soap at all stations.