The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

“In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system."

The director of a group of hospitals avers that a specialized UltraClean produced to reduce bacteria population on hands, basing on a study and a test, which two are tenuous and rife with holes, thus making the primitive argument vulnerable in logic. While few mistakes could be seen from the words mentioned in the passage directly, the underlying assumptions are incomplete and there are extra explanations challenging the author's idea. So if the director manages to make such argument robust, more evidence should be cited.

Firstly, the author begins with a statement that the study conducted in a laboratory shows that UltraClean could remove nearly 40% more bacteria than does normal hand soap. Assumption behind such argument is it could readily say that the veracious situation has nothing nuances existing outside the laboratory. Here, the author fails to persuade people to believe that premise in that no data or information are given. On condition that there are some other bacteria in the real hospital air vilifying the strong cleaning ability, words from the director could not hold water. Hence, to render a convincement for that argument, the writer should notice the difference between laboratory and real world. In addition to the flaw of disparate environment, the effectiveness of the study also lacks firm position. The first vague side is its sample size, how many times did such super concentrated solution overmount the original one? If the overmounting rate reaches 80% or above, it might be seen as a worthy fungible production. However, no such statistics are presented, leaving a large hole easily challenged by skeptics. And the second aspect, relating to the details of the study, is the situation that before cleaned by those two productions the same? Even only one of possibilities as mentioned before happens, the argument could be strongly punished.

Secondly, what is discussing now is another result of a test, a flawed deduction resulted from a parochial test, which indicates that the fewer infection cases reported in hospital of Workby is merely the effect of the implement of UltraClean. On the one hand, it might be true when Workby hospital is somewhere maintaining higher infection rate before the innovation. But we do not see if that is the case. So on the other hand, if that hospital primitively had very low rate of infection, which is hard to differentiate the division before and after using UltraClean, it confounds author's opinion. Thus, the director should contain more data, raging from the past to current, to espouse his own position.

Finally, the director's suggestion is a consequence of his last argument, a flawed deduction using single situation in Workby to represent for the whole group of hospitals. Such argument makes a wide conclusion based on tiny case. First, such argument has already stood on a false base, how correct could we expect it to has? Second, while we pretend to acknowledge the director's argument, it is unreasonable to expand its use to all hospitals, since the primitive hand washing liquid is reaching standards and the cost of the change is too huge for the group. So it should be implemented in infection sectors and hospitals under greater patients pressure. An the third is that, what if there are any side-effects within that solution hamstringing patients' organisms in the long run that is hardy to observed at a glance?

In a nutshell, the argument as the author stands in the passage is flawed due to the considerable paucity of solid evidence and several pieces of wishy-washy findings that are inaccurate. The director should indicate more statistics and basic information concerning UltraClean in the passage.