The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

The Managing director of Buckingham college presents optimistic idea to build number of new dormitories in the given statements. the director concludes that by building new dormitories more and more prospective students will enroll in Buckingham college. There are certain observations and assumptions are made by managing director of Buckingham college: the enrollment of college is increasing and the rate of houses are also increasing which are not affordable. By these observations the managing director has drawn this optimistic conclusion. But these given statements are not enough to satisfy the conclusion.

First of all, The managing director says that the enrollments of Buckingham college will become twice in next 50 years based on current growing enrollments. How can anyone make assumption of number of students after 50 years based on current statistics? If the assumption is made for next 2 or 3 years then it can be considerable. It may be possible that in next 50 years various new colleges can be opened in the town, so the enrollments of Buckingham colleges may not be high. The demand of foreign study is also increasing now days. It may be possible that the students of town may be go to the other towns or countries for higher education. So, we can not predict the enrollments of next 50 years due to given possibilities.

The other thing the managing director mentioned about the increasing rent of the houses in town and which can be not affordable by students. But there are several possibilities of increasing rent. It may be possible that the people of town who rent apartments may give more facilities for high rent or the rent of the apartment may be affordable to students. The managing director assumes that the students will find difficult to afford off-campus housing. But it may be possible that the students which are enrolled in Buckingham college are from affluent backgrounds and can easily afford the houses of higher rent for luxurious facilities. It may be possible that the majority of students who study in Buckingham college are from local area and they have no need to stay in campus buildings. It is also possible that the affluent students do not like to stay in college hostel with lack of facilities. There is no mention of facilities which the new campus bu

The last assumption director has made about the future enrollments of prospective talented students in college. But there is no mention about academic measure of Buckingham college. There is no evidence about the statistical performance of Buckingham college. It can be a local college and there may be various high standard colleges in the town. Then why prospective students will join Buckingham college. They may go in other colleges. Even if we assume that Buckingham is standard college for prospective students, the students will come for education not for dormitories. If he/she want to increase the enrollments then he/she should increase the standard of education.

Therefore, In give statements the conclusion is optimistic but there are dearth of evidences to satisfy conclusion. If there are more evidences present to bolster the idea of campus buildings then we can think about it, but the given assumptions and observations attenuate the conclusion.