“We recommend that monarch books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide collection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discounting the childeren’s book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age 10. Opening a café will allow monarch to attract more customers and better complete with regal books, which recently opened its own café.”

The given argument concludes the recommendation that monarch books should open a café in its store and gives certain reasons for opening a café. The author says that the customer base of monarch books is large and the café can be opened at the place of children’s section of books Because the popularity of that section is less. The author also assumes that the popularity of store will be increased by opening café and monarch books will compete with regal books.

Beginning with the author’s assumption that the café will increase the popularity, it seems not profitable. Because It is true that the Monarch books is situated at same location for more than last 20 years and also has a large customer base, but these customers may be connected with monarch books due to the large variety of books available at the store. It does not imply that the café will attract the customers. The customers are attracted by the books, how can the author conclude about the increase in customer by café?

The monarch has wide collection of books. Therefore, it is clear that the customers from different area may come for them but that does not mean that the customers will be attracted by café. It may be possible that there are lot of other cafes situated around the monarch books. So, the new café may not do any big impact on the customers of monarch books.

The another argument is about the discounting the children’s section for café because the rate of number of children below age 10 is diminished as per national census report. But how can the author relate the percentage decline in the children nationwide with the children associated with the monarch books. It may be possible there are more number of children in the area at which the monarch books is situated and the children like to visit the children’s section in monarch books. Moreover, it is also possible that the school teachers also encourage the children to read books in libraries and book stores. So, the argument of author about replacing children’s section by café make the conclusion weak.

The author’s argument also tells about the benefit of café for competing with regal books which recently opened a café. But there is no evidence about where the regal book is situated? There is no mention about the number of people visit the regal books and how can author assumes about the increase in regal books due to café. It may be possible the regal books might have decreased the price of books so the people were attracted. Therefore, the comparison with the regal books make the argument weak.

Finally, there is no evidence is given in the author’s argument which strengthen the proposal of opening café in the monarch books. Therefore, the argument’s conclusion is weak as per the author’s assumption.