A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

In any nation, there are number of subjects that students study in different standards before college. The author says that all the students of entire nation should study same subjects before entering to college, but it is not completely appropriate to teach same subjects in entire nation.

Beginning with, there are several states in the nation. Each state has their own specific culture, which may differ slightly or largely from another state’s culture. Also each state have their own mother tongue. So, every state may have its own choice of subjects about language. Therefore, if the curriculam of entire nation is similar than every state must include all the subjects in which, some are not relevant to that particular state. For example, in country like India each state has its own mother tongue. So, it is not good to include the ‘Tamil’ language in study subjects of state Gujarat.

The Other thing is about the development of the industry or other projects in particular region. For example, If the state is well developed in particular Industry and the government wants to encourage the youth for that industry then they can include the subjects related to them in the studies. Similarly if the region in well developed in agriculture then they can include some subjects related to that. Therefore, Each region can include the subject related to its environment. The subjects like Social Science can include the topics about history by the regional culture rather than considering entire nation.

The curriculam is also divided by some factors like education boards. Some students that studies in State education boards, some are in Central national board and some want to study in international board. So, they must have independency to study in whichever board they want. For that it is not a good solution to maintain equal curriculam among them.

However, the curriculam should not be entirely different. It can differ only by some factors like mother tongue, education board, culture etc. but Some subjects which have major importance in study must be same in entire nation like mathematics, Science etc. so, the national education committee should include the subjects in entire nation studies.

Therefore in conclusion, I would like to state that the subjects of study should be decided by the state education committee different from other states but with little influence of national educational policies.