The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument cited that Buckingham college should build a number of new dormitories to accommodate students in the near future. Since, the current trends presage that the enrollment will double in next five decades. This conclusion might appear logical and convincing at first glance. However, a more critical analysis of the justification provided by the author has highlighted many queries. Therefore, the premises in there current form are not cogent - they are prevalent with unwarranted assumptions and susceptible for attacks.

To begin with, it is seems sensible to be prepared for future problems. Although it is not reasonable to prescience the future needs based on the current trends. Because the reasons that are attracting the students presently towards Buckingham college might not be the same in future, moreover, the students that are influx might from the same town or near by, they might prefer to be day scholars rather to stay at hostels.

Secondly, the premise that the average rent for apartments in our town has risen. The author here is not cogent about two points, whether the rise is significant enough, it would be difficult for a student to rent an apartment. Moreover, did all areas in the town have increased there rent. Since, it is average their may still places where the increase is not significant,

Lastly, the students who enroll look out for all the criteria before taking an admission, that include educational facilities and research laboratories. Author here has not considered the other important problems that have noticeable impact on enrollments.

To sum up, the author's argument is based on unsubstantiated assumptions. The author should have reinforced it more evidence. However, author should have addressed this issues that are this trends are sustainable and enough to make the decisions, rendering argument indefensible.