The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The director of student housing at Buckingham’s College claims that over the next 50 years, enrollment of students in Buckingham’s College is going to be double and therefore wants the college to build more domitories for the students. In support of this claim he provides certain vague and unconvincing evidences such as the current trend, rise in average rate for an apartment in the town making it difficult for students to afford off-campus housing. The author’s lack of in-depth analysis and missing evidences and arguments have led to holes in the reasoning of the argument.

Firstly, the author has made an incorrect assumption on the basis of current trends that the student enrollment in their college is going to be doubled over the period of 50 years. Prediction of over 50 years requires a lot of detailed analysis of many facts witch are not provided as supporting evidence by the author. There may occur many ups and downs within the period of 50 years on ecclectic factors. Therefore, only on the basis of current trends and without proper statistical facts and evidences the author cannot assume directly double the increase in enrollment of students in Buckingham’s College.

Secondly, the author claims that it would be difficult to afford off-campus housing. For which he provides the evidence of an increase in average rent for an apartment in the town. However, the author has not mentioned about the reasons for the increase in rent of apartments. Moreover, the author assumes that many people won’t be able to afford such costly houses off-campus. The increase in rent may be for a certain period of time and within a certain vicinity of the college. Without proper evidence the author cannot justify an increase in rent.

Thirdly, new domitories won’t be the sole reason because of which the students would be attracted to enroll in Buckingham’s College. More than attractiveness, Studies is an important aspect for enrollment. The author has provided no evidence for the increase in enrollment and without proper evidence increase in new domitories cannot be properly justified.

In conclusion, the author, in order to support his claims, should have included the above evidences.with the lack of profound analysis, and supporting evidences as well as logic and comprehensive reasoning, the argument stands weak. A detailed study of the increase in enrollment need to be provided in order to fill the holes of the argument and support the author’s hypothesis.