The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper in Masontown:

“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument assumes that his town residents would be encouraged to save money on municipal garbage disposal and ready to recycle more with the help of an advertising campaign. Moreover, to support his argument he also provides the evidence of the neighboring town, Hayesworth stating that had a decrese in garbage disposal by passing a law. However, the author's arument have many missing pieces of evidence and lack of in-depth anlaysis that have led to holes in the reasoning of his argument.

Firstly, to save money on municipal garbage disposal, the author provides evidence of the neighbouring town, Hayesworth, saying that last year they passed a law because of which they has seen its garbage disposal cost to decrease significantly. The author assumes that people of his town will also be ready to recycle the waste rather than paying a fine. The author should have provided some pieces of evidence on the basis of which he can say that similar to Hayesworth, even residents of his town will be ready to recycle waste and thereby reduce the garbage disposal fees of the town.

Secondly, it might be that Hayesworth have less number of residents than Masontown. It could be even possible that hayesworht town residents are more economical and educated enough to understand that they should recycle instead of pay fine. It could be possible that the Masontown residents have opposite thoughts as that of Hayesworth town. So, without proper facts and pieces of evidence, the author cannot assume that looking at Hayesworth even Masontown residents would be encouraged to recycle waste and save money on municipal disposal.

Thirdly, Will the advertising campaign have a positive result? It could be possible that the people won't be even interested to attend or view the advertising campaign. If the advertising campaign would not have the desired result then it instead of saving money, the money would be spent on advertising campaign with no positive results. The author should provide some evidence on which he/she can state that the advertising campaign would have a positive result.

In conclusion, in order to support his conclusion, the author hould have provided more evidence. With the lack of profound analysis and supporting evidence as well as logic and comprehensive reasoning, the argument stands weak.