It is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public.

A political leader is always concerned about the public, as they are the ones because of which he is currently governing the country.But many times, they withhold information from the public for their benefits. Since there are certain information which the public should be aware of, therefore, In my opinion, I partially disagree with the author’s statement and suggestions because of the following 2 reasons.

For instance, as we all know that china was performing certain operations and experitments on few victims by testing on them certain chemical reactions and their effects and benefits of it. Because of which it led to a pervasive pandemic in the country, Known as COVID-19. This was a certain type of virus which spread rapidly when people are in contact with one another. Since the population of China is the highest, this virus was spread among many people and which cost them their lives. If the political leaders governing the country would have informed the public early about the experiment, instead of withholding the information from the public, then the condition would have been much better.

Another example is of the United States of America, Recently the political leader, Donald Truimph, without asking the public opinions, passed a law that foreign country students who are currently pursuin their Masters studies online because of the COVID-19 outbreak, but are staying in America, have to leave the country and go to their respective country’s until the COVID-19 virus situation is stable. This led to a lot of controversies between the universities and the government as it would harm the life of the student studying. The political leader should have asked the public opinion before passing such laws.

However, there are certain informations which should not be released to the public until the task is over and successful. For example, the URI attack, done by the Indian armed forces on the Pakistan terrorists by entering their country by crossing the LOC. If this information was made available by the political leaders to the public then somehow this information may be leaked to Pakistan by his agents and would be difficult to complete the task. Therefore in certain situations it is necessary, even desirable to withhold information from the public.

Though there are certain cons of withholding the information from the public, the pros outweigh the cons. Therefore because of the above reasons I partially disagree with the authors statement.