The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

According to the author, the surest indicator of a great nation is by the general welfare of its people and not by the achivements of its rulers, artists or scientists. Though, a great nation is build because of its people. So, the general welfare of the people plays an important role in deciding the success of a nation. However, in my opinion, the achievements of the nation’s rulers, artists and scientists are equally important indicator of a nation’s success because of the following two reasons.

The inventions, discoveries and missions done by the scientists, cannot be neglected as they are an important indicator of a great nation. For instance, consider the mass mission, known as “mission mangal”, done by The ISRO (Indian Space Research Organization). In this mission, the scientists of ISRO, in its first attempt were successfully able to send the satellite on mass with the lowest cost, making a world record. It was one of the most successful missions in the record of the nation which made the entire nation proud. Therefore, these achievements cannot be neglected and are crucial in the success of a nation.

Secondly, as one wheel alone cannot balance the whole load. General welfare of the people are equally important to the achievements. If the people are not satisfies by the rules and regulations of the nation, the nation cannot be successful.

In conclusion, as we all know that clap cannot be done only by one hand. Both the hands are together required to produce the desired result. Similarly, achievements as well as general welfare of its people together are the surest indicator of a great nation. Therefore, because of the above reasons, both, the achievements and the general welfare of the people are an equally important indicator of a great nation.