"The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc., a chain of hobby shops.

""Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."""

The author concludes here that choosing southeasern Grilldon as the site for next HobCo hobby shop would add stream of customers to HobCo, Inc. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention some key features on the basis of which it could have been evaluated. To support his claim, the author reasons that as there is no hobby shop in southeasern Grilldon and Grilldon has a increased percent of hobby business in past decade, it would be a great decision to set up a new shop in southeasern Grilldon. However, careful scrutiny of evidence reveals that there is little credible support to author's claim. Hence, the claim can be considered incomplete and unsustainable.

Firstly, the author readily assumes that as the other parts of Grilldon have a increased percent of hobby business, southeasern Grilldon will also produce same kind of result. This is merely an assumption without much solid ground.

To illustrate, the people of southeasern Grilldon can be apathetic about hobbies. They might have put their interest un any other type of interest. Hence, the argument would have been much more convincing if the author explicitely stated that

Again, the author points out that as there is a very large population of retires in Grilldon, hobby shop in southeasern Grilldon will be a successful. This is again a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between number of retired people in total Grilldon and chances of business bloom in southeasern Grilldon. For example, may be the number of retirers in southeasern Grilldon is very small and they are not interested in hobbies. So, if the author provided evidnce that there are a lot retired people in southeasern Grilldon and they are interested in hobbies,it would have been much more convincing.

Finally, the auhtor's conclusion raises some skeptical questions. Do the survey included a large number of population? Do the survey included people of all ages? As there were no hobby shops, were they even interested in hobbies?

Without convincing answers to questions, the reader is left with the impression that the argument is just a wishful thinking of the author rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster further, the author should have included some statistical data as evidence to his claim. Without those, the argument is weak.