The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing. "Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. Due to this demand and the overall increase in clothing prices, we can predict that Sartorian's alpaca overcoats will be more profitable than ever before."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In the memo, the author concludes that their product, alpaca coats, would be more profitable at present time, after a period of discontinuity, than the last time. This conclusion is based on the reasoning which is riddled with assumptions, and shows myopic view of the author. Questions on the prediction of demand, the quality of new fabric, and the overall profitability should be answered before relying on the conclusion given in the memo.

It is assumed by the author since there was outcry on discontinuity of the product, there would be pent-up demand once the product returns after five years. It should be first checked whether it is necessarily the case. It could happen that alpaca coats got out of fashion in that period of five years because of their absence, and since the market of clothing is highly contingent on fashion, the product would not live up to the expectation of the company. In the market of clothing, a company should always keep checking the current fashion trends; relying on five years old data is unreasonable.

The reason of the outcry should also be delineated; it should be known whether the outcry was really due to the popularity of product, or the general tendency of people to resist any change. It could be the case where the alpaca coats had become daily necessity, and people hated the break in routine. In such a situation, the comeback of the product would be again a sign of change, and would be met by ignorance. The author, in addition, also makes it vague by not clearly stating the number of people who were involved in the "outcry". If the number is not significant, it would mean that the subsequent assumptions of the author involving the demands are baseless.

The author goes on to describe how the surge in prices of the general clothing would lead to the alpaca overcoats giving good return in the market. This logic is downright trecherous. The source of increment in price could be the rise in price of the raw material itself--which could instead mean that they have to pay more to make the product. It could then happen that the returns actually become smaller than the previous time. Therefore it should be answered by the author whether the new supplier offers the fabric at a reasonable price.

The quality of the new fabric should also be under consideration. It could happen that the previous supplier had esoteric knowledge, and the quality of the fabric couldn't be replicated by anyone else. In such a case, the quality of alpaca coast might be worse than the last time--leading to dip in the demand of the product.

Another subtle point of consideration is the fact that no competitor supplier brought the product in the market once it got discontinued by the company in question. If the alpaca coats were such a profitable business, it should be suprising that the product was not launched by anyone else. Although the reson could be global dearth in the fabric, it could also be that the competitors had predicted a general trend towards the product getting lower in demand, and hadn't deemed it to be worth a consideration. It should, thus, be exactly known the reason why the product wasn't launched by anyone else.

Answering all the above points ranging from the inexact estimate of previous demand, the economical and quality issues of the new fabric, to the fashion trends among the public could save the company from the negative consequences made from the the fallacious reasoning present in the memo.