Argument Type

The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

One of the first questions that need to be answered before evaluating the argument is how few is "fewer" in the sentence "[..] fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies...". Is the decrement lower enough to warrant the increased spending for the subsequent advertisments? On a same not, it should also be verified that the percentage by which positive reviews have increased is a good number. A good percentage should be decided relative to the standard deviation that the number has shown in past decade or so. It could also happen that the positive reviews have increased for all the movies, not just that of Super Screen Company, and is associated with a factor not relevant to the actual improvement in quality of their movies of the last year.

On to the more important gaps in the flow of logic, the author of the memo jumps to the conclusion that the reviews are not reaching the public from the premise that the reviews of the movies are good but still the viewers number has taken a dip. First assumption here is that the amount of good reviews is the reason why people turn up for a movie, which is not necessarily a case. This could happen when people weigh more on the topic of the story, or the popularity of the movie-cast among other things. If this is the case, the author's conclusion that public are not reading the good reviews of the movies could be false and still the dip in the number would be justified -- a flaw in the logic.

A second assumption here is that people even read the reviews of the movies presented to them through newspaper or other media. It could be the case that public is ignoring all the movie reviews by crtitics, and are instead relying on the word of their family and friends. In which case the whole subsequent argument falls apart, including the final conclusion of increasing the advertising budget.

An important assumption in the memo is that increasing advertisements would lead to public being more aware about the quality of the movies by the company. Although at first glance it seems to be logical, but it is not evident from the premise itself. It could be the case that people ignore advertisements of the movies, and forget about their content. In such a case, alternative ways to increase the awareness should be reflected upon, such as selling of movie merchanidise, etc.

The memo is riddled with different kind of assumptions, some very serious in nature. Ensuring that all the assumptions are valid one based on real data is a must for the final conclusions to be valid.