Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Corporations are formed for the benefit of the society and desire to money is only to grow the organisation to new levels so that they can further improve the quality of life. The prime responsibility of any corporation is promote the well being of the society and look after the environment.

Corporations need to make money in order to survive and grow but these are not the thing for which they came into existence. The primary reason for their existence is to provide product and services that improve the day to day life of the society; make it better. We can clearly see this culture in Silicon Valley, where entrepreneurs are working day and night to develop technologies that makes our lives efficient. Since, the focus is on welfare of the society and the people understand this . They purchase the product or the services which leads to an influx of huge amount of money in the corporations. So by this way the corporations make a lot of money by addressing the needs of the society.

CSR stands for Corporate Social Responsibility , which is now a part of the culture in almost every organisation. It simply reminds the corporate citizens of their responsibility towards the society that they must fulfill. Corporate conducts activities that benefits the society and exemplifies them as someone to be looked up to. It is the way of the organisation to give back to the society,making lives of the people better. For example organisation may send a team of people to orphanages,hospitals and other places of need to distribute some gifts or just have an interaction with the people there. This is something that makes the organisation have a distinguished image in the society that cannot be achieved by money.

Environment has been overlooked for past hundred years. As the world climate got worse in the recent years ,people have blamed the organisations that have been reckless and generated a lot of notoriety for over exploitation. This claim is true and is a clear point on why lust for money can put environment at risk. A recent example to back this statement is that of Exxon Mobil. This company dig up an oil reserve in a region near Antarctica which was opposed by environmentalist as it would be detrimental to the already damaged region. Their fears came true and a chunk of iceberg was detached from the land of ice thus contributing to increase in sea level.

Operating within the statutory requirements and going for money will create an ambitious mindset but such ambition would not create a healthy reputation for the corporation. Such a mentality would harm the environment and create a bad example for the future generations thus following the correct mindset i.e for the progress and service of the society is the correct direction for any corporation.