Formal Education tends to restrain our mind and spirit rather than set them free.

Formal Education tends to restrain mind and spirit. I totally agree with this statement. There are many supporting theories and examples to buttress it.

If you ask someone what do they think about formal education, most of the response would be that it is boring and tedious. This is not a surprise. People tend to get exhausted from a curriculum that is designed to give holistic knowledge. As it goes to such a depth that not everybody would be interested to dive in. Some people reason that what will be the use of all this that they are learning now. In reality this statement is valid,most of the knowledge that they gain now would not be useful in future. For example, studying Shakespeare books in literature class that are written in medieval English would not be useful to someone who pursue's a degree in engineering in the future. This creates a mentality of resistance that somehow gets embedded in persons mind and thus inhibit their full growth.

One may also argue that a more flexible curriculum would be lead to a much better development of the individual. Everyone has some subjects in college or school that they love and want to know more about. But this passion ends most of the time as it is not allowed to be explored more in depth. One way of promoting a free mind mentality is to give options in school so that students can choose whatever they are interested in and find out their passion. Finding something that you truly love learning is the key to a free mind and spirit.

Specialists are needed to make monumental discovery in any field. General populace are now understanding this aspect therefore homeschooling has become prominent in many places. They try to hone the skills of their kids which would make them more successful ahead in life and their argument is that spending time and money on formal education would be futile. Homeschooling has been shown to yield better results as many are joining top colleges in the country and produce better results.

In sum, formal education seem to create a mentality where one is exhausted and creativity is sapped by absorbing facts and figures that mean nothing in the future.But one must not forget that this holistic curriculum imparts knowledge that qualifies one to be ubiquitously educated and gives a better overall understanding of the world.