The following appeared in a memo from the owner of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Memo states that owner of the chain of cheese stores has come up with a decision to discontinue stocking variety of imported cheese. Since the domestic cheese from Wisconsin seems to be best selling as per survey provided in the World magazine. Also he/she has stated that last year the five years the best selling cheese where domestic cheese and so reducing the stocking up of imported cheese could help them increase the profit. The claim statement looks valid, because any enterprise would look forward to be lucrative. However it raises few questions in the decision made by the owner. Since the imported cheese is of people interest, if they reduce the stocking with the current level of data which has no bigger ground to judge, can also reduce their customers who buy imported cheese.

Firstly, as per the memo the five best selling cheese were domestic cheese in their stores and no imported cheese came in the top five. But the owner should also consider why the imported cheese where not selling, and how much they were profitable previously with the imports. Since they have been doing this for many years, if they suddenly discontinue to stock up the variety of imported cheese, this might affect business which in turns in their profit. Consequently, the result is not what the owner intended. Because the owner has to start analysing the profits over imported items in the past years, then he/she can come with a better position to judge.

Secondly, the World magazine which states that the best selling cheese were domestic cheese, which seems to be a suspicious statement in the memo. It raises a strong question "Why a WORLD magazine is giving preference to a particular domestic cheese with in their chain of stores". So the owner also has to look whether the data provided by the magazine is legitimate, also is there any discrepancies in the data. It is plausible to assume, magazine could have made the news to create sensation among people here and released a different set of news in different place. So owner has to verify the news before getting in to action.

Additionally, the most important entity in any enterprise are customers, so if they start discontinuing stocking up the imported cheese, people who buy the imported cheese might not prefer to buy in the store. So owner has to thoroughly go through the existing customer base of who buys what, how much imported cheese are getting sold, how many customers buy the cheese. All these necessary information has to be piled up to come with decision which leads to a profitable business and also valuable for the customers.

In conclusion, the decision made by the owner has to be reconsidered, since the decision is not having effective evidence to support it, also customers might get affected because of this decision. So the store should try to analyse all the possible scenarios and verify the existing data with them to come with the decision.