The following appeared in a memo from the sales manager of Eco-Power, a company that

manufactures tools and home appliances.

"Many popular radio and television commercials use memorable tunes and song lyrics to call

attention to the products being advertised. Indeed, a recent study of high school students

showed that 85 percent could easily recognize the tunes used to advertise leading soft drinks

and fast-food restaurants. Despite our company's extensive advertising in magazines during

the past year, sales of our home appliances declined. Therefore, to boost company profits, we

should now switch to advertisements featuring a distinctive song."

In this editorial, the author contends that memorable tunes and lyrics in the advertisement of goods have the significant effect on increasing the demand for those goods. To support this claim he mentions the recent study in a high school that represented that 85 percent of student remember some soft drinks and fast food restaurant from their advertisement song. Therefore, the author suggests that for increasing the income and profit of the Eco- power company it is better to use song advertisement. I find this argument contains several logical flaws, which render it unconvincing.

To begin with, the author assumes that there is a significant relationship between song advertisement and willingness to buy a product and overlooks other factors that might have important effects on the willingness of customers to buy the products. Perhaps, the quality of products or the packing shape of the products could attract more customer than the advertisement of them.

Secondly, the author claims that the recent study of high school student can demonstrate that 85 percent of students easily recognize the advertisement of the products such as fast food restaurants and soft drinks. However, the author overestimated the facts that sampling society of mention study might completely differ from the society of customers of Eco-power factory. It is entirely possible that customers of the manufacture tools do not attract to the song and the lyric of advertisement. Or perhaps, because of the age of the high students lower than the customer of Eco-power company, they like to remember the song of the advertisement; But the Eco-power customer might ignore these kinds of advertisement.

In addition, the author claims that the 85 percent of students easily recognize the song of advertisement that related to soft drinks and restaurants. I believe that the author compares apple and oranges and it is entirely possible that in the advertisement of soft drinks the aim of advertisement make an easy song to make the customers easily remember their names, however, for advertising the manufacture tools they need to introduce the quality and convenient use of their products. Therefore, the song advertisement might decrease the income and profit of the Eco-power company. I suggest that the author have to provide valid evidence that represents other company that produces manufacture tools used this type of advertisement and increase their profits.

Finally, the author contends that because the Eco-power company advertises in a magazine the income and profit of the company decrease, therefore, for increasing the profit of the company they have to advertise on TV. The author concludes illogically and overlooked other factors that might have more effect on their profit than the advertisement. It is entirely possible that the other manufacture tools company use other ways such as promotions and anniversary discount to attract customers. Or perhaps, the quality of Eco-power company decrease because of some economical problem of the company, therefore, the customers deny buying home appliances from this company.