The following appeared in a memorandum from the president of Mira Vista College to the

college's board of trustees.

"At nearby Green Mountain College, which has more business courses and more job

counselors than does Mira Vista College, 90 percent of last year's graduating seniors had job

offers from prospective employers. But at Mira Vista College last year, only 70 percent of the

seniors who informed the placement office that they would be seeking employment had found

full-time jobs within three months after graduation, and only half of these graduates were

employed in their major field of study. To help Mira Vista's graduates find employment, we

must offer more courses in business and computer technology and hire additional job

counselors to help students with their resumés and interviewing skills."

The editorial contends that the students of the Mira Vista College who employed after their graduation decrease because of their weakening in their resumes, interviewing and other business and computer skills. To support that the author points out to some vague and unlogical statistics and evidence. I find this argument logically unconvincing in several respects.

To begin with, the author points out to the 90 percent of the graduating last years decrease to the only 70 percent of graduating employe after 3 months of graduating to improve that the number of graduate students who could find jobs decrease. However, the author did not mention about the exact number of the total students of this college and the clear number of students after the graduation because it is entirely possible that the number of students was very small and the 90 percent of them was a large number but in the last years the number of students increase and because of that the percent change. Therefore, the author can not conclude logically to provide some clear statistics that could help him to prove his idea.

Secondly, the author assumes that finding more jobs have direct effects on the offering business courses and improving skills for interviewing. Perhaps, these two factors did have any effects on each other and the author overlooks the relation of other factors in the process of finding jobs for the graduate students. It is entirely possible that because of some economic changes in the economy of the city, the city needs more engineer than consulter.

In addition, even if the assumption of the author was correct and the number of the students who could find jobs after their graduation decrease, it might be possible that the solution of offering some courses such as business and computer technology, did have any effect on the number of students who can find the career in the future. It is entirely possible that the governments of the city offered some facilities to the immigrated people and the jobs offer decrease abruptly, therefore, by offering some additional courses in the college the students cannot overcome to the lack of job offers. Or perhaps, the students who can not find jobs, intend to continue their education or find jobs in metropolitan cities.

In short, without ruling out other evidence and clear statistics for decreasing the number of Mira Vista college graduated students who can find the job in the last year the author cannot convince me on the basis of his recommendation. Furthermore, to strengthen it the author must provide the exact total number of students and evidence that could prove the idea of offering more additional courses have a direct relation to finding more jobs.