Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application. Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty. reason

The writer claims that devoting more money for improving past knowledge and continue former scientists ways can limit the innovation and they should allocate more money for new discoveries. In addition, the writer reasons that they cannot easily predict the results of the research, therefore, it is better to investigate on new discoveries. In what follow I will first propound my answer to the claim then explain what I think of the reason on which the claim is based.

I cannot agree with the claim as it is because the author does not consider the economic disadvantages of this recommendation. As you know, for planning every research, the researchers have to provide some proposals that delineate their main propose of their research, materials and methods. Furthermore, they have to clearly estimate the budget they need to do this specific research. Therefore, if every scieitists want to do every research they want the funding and university budget spend widely in some research that might do not have significant findings or have impractical application. Hence, the university have to decide to devote the research budget fairly to the research that might have some breakthrough or new practical applications.

In addition, one of the important disadvantage of author recommendation is that the author overlooks the fact that the results of some discoveries and research might cause a negative consequences. For instance, when a famous scientist discover that they can use the Natron particles and atom features to produce nuclear power and use it as a inexpensive environmental energy, did not consider the negative and deleterious effects of this discovery on the dangerous bomb that could murdere thousands of people in the Japon. Hence, the results of every research have to predict and investigate because there are many innovation that could cause sever danger for human and environmental life.

As far as the reason concerned I cannot agree with the reason as it is because there is a problem. The writer represented that because anyone cannot predict the results of the research with certainty and they should not limit the scientists is the best way to improve the knowledge of scientists. But I think it is not the best way it can be only one way. As I mentioned above, it is crystal clear that the regulation and ruls have to limit the scientists because in some cases the research they aim to do have negative results and concequences on the human life. In addition, in other cases the research material and methods might need more money than the devoted budget of universities. Therefore, there are many ways that universities can provide the opportunities for scientists to improve their knowledge and make some discoveries but allowing them to do research without limitation cannot be the best way.