"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.’

The author recommends that opening new café in the Monarch book store could attract more customers and give the owner of this book store the opportunity to better compete with the new bookstore that recently opened. The author also recommends that they have to discount the children book section and give that space to their new café. To support this recommendation, the author points out that the percentage decrease of population of children under the age 10. I find the authors arguments logically unconvincing in several respects.

To begin with, the author claims that based on the statistics that the national census provide the percentage population of the children under the age ten significantly decline. However, the author overestimate to demonstrate what is the exact and clear number of children decrease? Or this nation organization could be a good source to provide statistics for a local book store? In addition, these statistics have to provide more detail information about the number of children that come to this exact local book store and buy book for their age. Therefore, without considering such possibilities, the author cannot convince me.

In addition, even assume that the statistics provided by the nation census organization is well suited to this situation; The possible effects of other factors on selling books have been overlooked by the author. It is entirely possible that many customers come to this book store because of quiet environment of this book store and opening new café in that environment might have negative effect on attracting customers. Or perhaps, opening new café could attract new customers at first but after couple of years because of this book store become over crowded the customers prefer to go to another book stores.

Finally, the author claims that opening a café in the Monarch book store could give them a opportunity to increase their customers and better compete with Regal book store that located in another place. But the author has to answer the questions that does the Regal book store have the similar condition to Monarch book store because Regal book store open recently and might have more customer for now. Or does the Regal book store locate in down town of the city which is too crowded or in the clam and quiet neighbors?

In sum, without ruling out these possibilities, the author recommendation cannot logically persuade me. To strengthen the argument, the author has to answer the questions that what is the exact and clear number of children that buy book form this book store and does opening new café in the book store environment have negative effects on customers or not?.