The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Alta Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Alta Manufacturing had thirty percent more on-the-job accidents than nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts believe that a significant contributing factor in many accidents is fatigue caused by sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Alta, we recommend shortening each of our three work shifts by one hour. If we do this, our employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

In the argument given, it is recommended by the arguer that in order to curtail the number of on job accident at the Alta manufacturing, the company has to reduce the three work shifts by one hour. This conclusion is based on the evidence that the accidents in the nearby Panoply industries is less, where the work shifts are one hour shorter, as compared to the Alta manufacturing company. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated three questions must be answered.

Firstly, the author prematurely cited the evidence from the Panoply industry that the Panoply industry has less number of accidents because of one hour shorter work shifts. Therefore the question arise that are two company comparable? Perhaps it is possible that Alta manufacturing has more number of employee than the Panoply Industry that may leads to more number of accidents counts than panoply industry. Additionally, it is also possible that more cases are reported in Alta manufacturing company than Panoply Industry. Hence, without much statistical evidence the recommendation does not hold water.

Secondly, the recommendation is based on the evidence from Panoply industry that the Panoply industry has less number of accidents. But this might not be the case, what if it is possible that both the company has different working environment? Perhaps it is possible that Alta manufacturing company has more stringent working condition that may add work pressure on the workers which may cause accidents. Additionally, it is possible that workers in Alta manufacturing are not following the canons of safety. Furthermore, it is possible that the workers in the Alta manufacturing company are less skilled as compared to the Panoply Industry. In addition to this, it is possible that the upper authority or management of Alta manufacturing company are not so solicitous about the working conditions or the safety environments of the workers, for instance the number of auditing of safe working conditions is more in Panoply Industry than in Alta manufacturing company. Hence, considering these aspect the conclusion is flawed.

Thirdly, the author assumed that most imperative cause of on job accident is sleep deprivation. Therefore, by shortening work shifts by one hours it would provide workers an extra hour to get adequate amount of sleep but, what if number of sleep hours of the employee remain as it was before the shortening of work shift? In other words, it is possible that the workers sleep hours is fixed. Thus, the author does not provide enough evidence to prove this assumption.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stand now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the feasibility of the argument.