Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the argument given, it is concluded that the Dr Field's conclusion about Tertia culture is invalid this is based on the evidence that the Dr. Karp interviewed with children of Tertia and found the opposite of what Dr Field has concluded. However, before this is recommended the arguer needs to answer three questions.

Firstly, are the two methods comparable? Perhaps it is possible that during the observation method the child behaves differently than during the interview method. It might be possible that during interview method the child is more parents centric while with the observation method the child is reared by an entire village than the their own parents. Hence, unless more comparable evidence is not provided the conclusion remains flawed.

Secondly, how the interviewed centred method is performed? Perhaps it is possible that during interview the interviewer ask mostly the family or the parents’ centric questions that might lead to more involvement of parents while interviewing. Thus, the children takes more time talking about their parent rather than any adults in their village. For example, If it is asked about their family backgrounds then it might be leads children to talk about their parents only. Hence, without much statistical evidence the recommendation does not hold water.

Thirdly, it is prematurely assumed by the author that the observation method is invalid. Therefore question arises that which method is more reliable? Perhaps it is possible that the observation method might be the correct way of studying the culture of Tertia because, as the observation does not have any direct influence on the behaviour of the children. Whereas, it might be possible that Interviewed method is not the optimum method of studying the culture of the Tertia. Hence without no clear evidence is provided which method is more reliable the conclusion does not hold water.

In sum, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to various unwarranted assumption. Hence, if more clear evidence is provided then is possible to fully evaluate the feasibility of the argument.