Vandalism in Carlton County

In the letter by the citizen of Carlton County to the author, it is claimed that the cause of increased vandalism in the Carlton County over the past two years is out of state migrants. This is concluded based on the migrant’s trend that has also increased over the past few years. Therefore it is recommended by the citizen that government should take strict measure to control out of state migrants. However, before this statement can be properly evaluated, three question must be answered.

Firstly, is there any strong relation between migrants and vandalism that could act as testimony for the increased vandalism? Perhaps it is possible that all the migrants migrated to join ones profession and doesn’t have anything to do with vandalism. For example if all migrants in Carlton County are working as engineers, doctors, teacher etc. And all the victims of vandalism belongs to the native state (Carlton County) and are mostly jobless who indulge and do such activities as their imperative source of income. Therefore without considering all other aspects, the arguer makes unfair assumption that the large migrant population is responsible of increased vandalism.

Secondly, it is noted that vandalism has been increased over the past two years, so what has actually changed in past two years apart from migrant’s population that could be responsible for such increased vandalism? Perhaps it is possible that change in the political scenario might be responsible. For example it is possible that election might have happen two years before and the newly elected political party did nothing for the betterment of their citizen and might be alleged for the corruption as well poor handling of the state and its fellow citizens which aggravated the frustration of citizens that ultimately leads to vandalism in state. If above is true, then argument doesn’t hold water.

Thirdly, what is the purpose of migrants to the Carlton County state? Perhaps it is possible that almost all the migrants belong to the old class citizen that could only enjoy each day of their life without bothering what is happening all around. For example it is possible that increased in migrants is because of multitude of old people who came to Carlton County to spend their retirement life in this state in past two years. Therefore, considering this aspect the arguer makes unwarranted assumption.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stand now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the feasibility of the argument.