The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It is concluded in the argument that by curtailing its operating expenses by closing the store at 6:00 PM rather than 9:00 PM and also by eradicating the stock of movies form the store which is more than five years old. This conclusion is based on the evidence that the profitable results are achieved in store at downtown Marston. However, before this statement is properly evaluated, three questions has to be answered.

First, what is the relation between the store at Marston and the other nine Galore stores? Perhaps it is possible that store at Marston is profitable because it has perfectly store the movies that is more required to the customer and they might be closing at early because it might be possible that the customer in downtown is more inclined to shop during daytime or may be before 6:00 PM but that might not be the case with other nine stores. What if the customers at the other stores is different from the Marston store than implementing such decision would not be wise. Hence, not clear relation between the Marston store and other store is given. If these scenarios has merit, then conclusion drawn from the argument is significantly weakened.

Second, what is the consequences of reducing the movies that is released before five years? Perhaps it is possible that customers at the other store apart from the Marston store, may like mostly the movies that are quaint, thus, eliminating such movies from stores might produce negative results. For example the customer demands more of the archaic movies even older than five years then eliminating such movies will ultimately curtail the store productivity. The requirement of the movies of the customer at each store has to be taken into consideration. If above is true, the conclusion does not hold water.

Third, what is the relation of decreasing the expenses by closing the store at 6:00 PM? Perhaps it is possible that customers at other store likes to buy the movies form the stores at night. Additionally, it is also possible that the opening of new stores in the town which offers more discount on the movies has been the cause of declining of the profits of Gaoler’s store. Hence, until clear and systematic evidences are provided the conclusion drawn is flawed.

In sum, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide much systematic evidence then it will be possible to fully evaluate the feasibility of the argument.