The following appeared in a letter from a firm providing investment advice to a client. “Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because of these developments, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil.

In the argument, it is concluded that the demand of heating oil will increase. It is based on the evidence that the homes in the north-eastern United States uses heating oil as their major source for heating and the forecast predict that the requirement will be continued. However, before the statement is properly evaluated, four questions need to be answered.

First, the arguer prematurely assumes that the weather forecast would be accurate and blindly rely on the forecast prediction. What if the prediction of forecast is not accurate? Perhaps it is possible that the average temperature of the north-eastern states might rise may be up to temperature, where there would not be any requirement of heating oil. Hence, no clear evidence is provided, the conclusion drawn from statement is significantly weakened.

Second, the arguer assumes that the newly constructed house would increase the demand of the oil heater. Perhaps it is possible that, the newly house constructed might get only few possession. Additionally, is possible that the newly constructed house is provided with intelligent electric heating system that does not require any oil heating material. If these scenarios, has merit then the conclusion does not hold water.

Third, it is assumed by the arguer that the traditional system of oil heating will remain in demand. Perhaps it possible that the new technology night isolate the conventional technology. For example, new electric heater that run solely on electric, might gain the popularity and the conventional oil heating becomes quaint. Hence, until clear and systematic evidences are not provided the conclusion drawn is flawed.

Fourth, is assumed by the author that the Consolidated Industry would remain at the top in terms of supplying heating oil to the north-eastern states. But what if new industry emerges and surpasses the Consolidated industry? Perhaps it is possible that the profit of new industry might increases either by supplying oil at low prices or by supplying more quality oil than the Consolidated industry.

If above is true, the conclusion drawn does not hold water. In sum , the argument, as it stand now, is considerably flawed due to various unwarranted assumptions. If author is able to provide much systematic evidences than it is possible to fully evaluate the feasibility of the argument.