Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people whom they serve.

Government officials, are the authorities particularly appointed to serve to the nation and its citizens. In order to run the state or any territory, officials have to take many decisions that may be sometimes too strict which is against the will of the citizen and sometimes according to the will of the citizen. For example, during any emergency, such as the pandemic, the government officials may take strict decision to impose rules and law that would not allow citizen to gather at any place and to remain at their home.

For instance, during corona pandemic, the leaders of various countries have imposed lockdown which restrict citizen from going out anywhere and also urge citizens to maintain social distancing. This however, affects the economy of the country and such decision was of course not in the favour of the ordinary citizen of any country. But, at the same time it was necessary from government officials of the respective country to take such harsh decision which are against the will of their citizens.

Apparently, if the government officials rely on the will of the citizen then it might make it difficult for the officials to take any judgment but they have to consider the will of the society in many scenarios. For example, if the government passes a law that would make the education free to every students of the country, then that law might be helpful and in favor to those who are impoverished and could not afford it but it would also affect the private universities and the schools staffs as their income rely solely on the paid institution. Hence, under such circumstances that law might bring imbalance to whole system. Therefore, sometimes the officials need to be calculated according to the will of the citizen.

In sum, it depends on the various scenarios whether the government officials should rely on will of the citizen or not. If the decision is for the betterment of the society as a whole then such decision should be taken without any consensus of the citizen but if decision is insular and providing advantage to the limited people then such decision should be taken along with the consensus of the citizen.