The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the letter given to editor from Central Plaza owner, it is assumed that the decrease of their business and increased vandalism throughout the plaza is because of skateboarders in the Plaza. This conclusion is based on the assumption that, from the last two years number of skateboarding has increased and at the same time numbers of shopper decreased dramatically. Therefore, it is recommended that city should prohibit the skateboarding in plaza. However, before this recommendation is properly evaluated three questions must be answered.

Firstly, is there any strong relation that can act as a testimony to decreased number of shoppers in the plaza because of skateboarders? Perhaps it is possible that skateboarding has gained popularity in past two years and the shoppers are themselves enjoy skateboarding in the plaza or it might be possible that for the first year the skateboarding was very less popular and also at that the same time shoppers drop dramatically, also it might be the case that during the second the year popularity of skateboarding increased whereas the shoppers numbers remain at its nadir. Therefore, without giving proper evidence the arguer makes unfair assumption.

Secondly, are there any other aspects taken into consideration for dwindling number of shoppers? Perhaps it is possible that new plaza has opened up in the area which captivated the numbers of shoppers. For example, it might be possible that this new plaza offers discounts and it is cheap as compared to the Central Plaza. It might be also possible that the surfeit of shops have been opened in the area which has curtailed the number of shoppers in the Central Plaza. If above is true, the argument doesn’t hold water.

Thirdly, has there been any breakthrough in the past two years that has affected the Central Plaza? Perhaps it is possible that the introduction of online shopping has transformed the whole world resulting in decline number of shoppers in the Central Plaza. Hence, shoppers do shopping just sitting at home without even stepping out of their home. Therefore, considering this aspect the arguer makes unwarranted assumption.

In sum, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumption. If the author is able to offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the feasibility of the argument.