Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

In the argument given, it is stated that Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville have instead advocated that it should prove to be very successful. They have come to this conclusion based on Nature’s way trend that it tends to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. However, before this statement can be properly evaluated, three question must be answered.

First, it might be possible that there is already a chain of stores selling healthy food and other health related products on which the residents of Plainsville rely. In other words Nature’s way may have a different kind of competitions and circumstances in Plainsville. Furthermore, it is possible that the residents of Plainsville may feel reluctant to try new store than they are already accustom to existing stores. If these scenarios has merit, then conclusion drawn in original argument is significantly weakened.

Second, what if the discounts have been offered on sales of running shoes and clothes, club membership, weight training and aerobic classes? The author prematurely assumes that because the residents of Plainsville live healthy lives they are very penchant towards health kind of stuffs such as running shoes, weight training classes etc. However this might not be the case. Perhaps the short term discounts may have augmented the sales or the club membership etc. therefore it may lead to short terms profits. If above is true, then argument doesn’t hold water.

Third, it is assume that schoolchildren are potential customers because they are required to participate in fitness for life program but what if only few students shows affinity toward fitness for life program. For instance, it is possible that majority of children’s parents don’t allow their child to indulge in fitness program or keeping study as their imperative goal. Therefore until and unless a new evidence is provided , the conclusion is flawed.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stand now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the feasibility of the argumetnt.