The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones

Teaching is the process of training or moulding someone to achieve the excellence in a particular field. It is the guide to provide the correct path to achieve ones aim or goal. But process of teaching is very consistent as well as constant process, it includes teaching, guiding, sometimes praising as well as scolding. Therefore, it has various components to carry out while teaching. Hence, I disagree with statement that the best way to teach is to praise positive action and ignore negative ones. This biased teaching may lead to various negative outcome.

For example, if a child is very adapt in his educational curriculum but wanting moral lessons. And if his parents who are his guider, in other words, are his teacher to guide him the correct path of life but if they continue to praise only his positive actions and ignore his negative ones, the child would definitely ignore the limits or the areas where he is lacking behind and would definitely consider such lessons as inconsequential. That child surely would excel in academic profession but would definitely fail in society as well as it would leave no scope of improvement.

Furthermore, It is sometimes, however, it is required to praise the positive actions of the child because that praise bolster the confidence and encourage them to improve further. For example, if as child has done enough hard work then a little praise might enhance his spirit. But the praise should be limited and should also highlight the weak areas of child to improve further. For example if a child wants to be a footballer then his coach has to praise him along with pointing out the areas where he needs improvement. And if the coach only praises his strength and ignore his weakness then that child would not improve further and it may lead to overconfidence in him. Such collective positive praise and highlighting the negative points is the best way to guide or teach the student.

In sum, Teaching is an assiduous work which involves both praising and criticizing the child to always remind him the areas of improvement. Hence, only praising the positive and ignoring the negative ones would leave no room of improvement of child.