Three years ago, because of flooding at the Western Palean Wildlife Preserve, 100 lions and 100 western gazelles were moved to the East Palean Preserve, an area that is home to most of the same species that are found in the western preserve, though in larger numbers, and to the eastern gazelle, a close relative of the western gazelle. The only difference in climate is that the eastern preserve typically has slightly less rainfall. Unfortunately, after three years in the eastern preserve, the imported western gazelle population has been virtually eliminated. Since the slight reduction in rainfall cannot be the cause of the virtual elimination of western gazelle, their disappearance must have been caused by the larger number of predators in the eastern preserve.

In the argument, it is concluded that the disappearance of the western gazelles in the East preserve is due to the large number of the predators present in the eastern preserve. The conclusion is based on the assumption that the slight reduction in rainfall cannot be the cause of such disappearance and the large number of predator is assumed as the only cause. However, before the conclusion is properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First, it is assumed by the author that as the most of the species or the close relatives of the species of the western preserve are found in the eastern preserve also hence, this would be the favourable habitat for the western gazelles. Perhaps, it is possible that the habitat might not suited to the western gazelles. For example, the western gazelle might rely on the foods that differs from the eastern gazelle and it might not be available sufficiently in the eastern preserve. Thus, no clear evidence is provided the conclusion drawn is flawed.

Second, it is prematurely assumed by the author that the eastern preserve might be the best suitable habitat for the western gazelles, perhaps this might not be the case. It is possible that the western gazelles after located to the new preserve found it difficult to adapt to get the geography of the area. For instance, the western gazelles suffered in finding the various territory such lakes to drink water, and food sources areas and also the location for shelter. This might be the cause of the disappearance. If this scenario has merit than, the conclusion drawn does not hold water.

Third, it is assumed by the author that there are large number of predators that caused the disappearance. However, the case might be reverse, perhaps it is possible that the predators such lions are less in number and the it is possible that the area of eastern preserve is much smaller than the western preserve, this aid the predators to target large number of gazelles but because the western gazelles are new to this preserve it might be difficult for them to counter against such situation whereas the eastern gazelles are habitual to this habitat and have developed the mechanism to counter such type of situation. If this true then the conclusion is flawed.

In sum, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide more evidence (probably more systematic) then it will be possible to fully evaluate the feasibility of the argument.