Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people

Science have always been the revolutionary field that transforms the whole world such as the invention of internal combustion engines that facilitate to commute from one place to another in a very short time. Moreover, the invention of electricity has helped the mankind in every means. Therefore, I would agree with such statement that scientist should work for the betterment of its society.

For example, the scientist have done extensive research in field of medicine such as the invention of diagnostic of cancers at an early, transplantation mechanisms of organs and treatment of various life threatening disease etc. Hence, with the help of invention and research by the scientist it is possible to find and cure such diseases, which otherwise would not have been possible. Therefore, if scientist carry out their work in path of betterment of human, then such work would be appreciated and would be beneficial for betterment of humans.

Furthermore, as the previous example reveals the scope of scientist's work. However, if the advancement is carried out that does not benefits the human race and its society. For example, the invention of robots in recent time has revolutionized the whole world, its applications has increased in various manufacturing industry because it is proving to be more profitable than humans. Thus, it is replacing humans and their role from such industry thereby leading to unemployment and instability among human race. Therefore, such invention that benefits only the limited groups of society is not desirable.

However, it is not necessary that every scientist work should benefit large number of people because it is not possible to include such principle in every field of study. For example, if scientist is researching in the field of cosmology. Then his work will only include the information and the advancement as well as the research of planets, stars etc. That work would neither be beneficiary nor detrimental for every human being.

In sum, scientist and researchers should work with an aim to give its benefit to multitudinous number of people but, if it is helpful to only limited group that could lead to instability of society then such work should be avoided.