The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food

storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control

services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food

there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we haveused for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only

$10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. This difference in pest

damage is best explained by the negligence of Fly-Away."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed

explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the

argument.

This memo urges on the fact that enacting a new alliance with new company to protect the food kept in warehouse face with negative repercussions. To endorse this thesis, three postulations have been proposed. 1) A number of food marred and contaminated with pests increments more remarkable than the previous corporation. 2) The surveillance of new company has not been sufficient to shield the food products from pests and 3) the efficiency of the pesticides of new firm cannot be effective as the former company. Close scrutiny each of the facts, divulges that none of them seem coherent in elucidating the hypothesis.

A threshold problem with the argument involves the number of polluted food with pests in comparison with the previous corporation. Going into the depth, the writer underestimated the significance of external factors in polluting the food products besides the pests. That means, other environmental issues may become involved in engendering the loss in food products. Thus, here the lack of validation of the author’s allegations about the weak performance of pesticides of new firm rather than the old one. Furthermore, altering the physical and chemical features of new kinds of food which may evince various reactions to new pesticides cannot be omitted. Another important issue is the number of whole food kept in a warehouse has not been mentioned.

Even assuming that inspection of executers of new company is another determining factor contributing to the vast demolishes of food cannot be tenable. To delineate, the scrivener neglects the impact of the condition of a warehouse in retaining the food production under the proper situation. Accordingly, the inspectors may carry out their responsibilities and task meticulously, but the necessary circumstances to help the pesticides to demonstrate their true performances may not be defensible. Consequently, in addition to the fault of inspectors in curtailing the condition, who could deny the predominance of the physical condition of warehouses in which the food is preserved?

Not does the mere fact that the old company could provide the higher efficiency of pesticides compared with the new corporation. Broadly speaking, the pest-resistance to the pesticides can be deemed another strike element in devastating the pests. Indeed, there is the high probability that new kinds of pesticides are resistant to current pesticides and it is critically essential to create new ones which are more vigorous than the previous ones to halt them. Based on this explanation, if even the old pesticide are implemented, the yield of this company will be lowered to its lowest point as well. Hence, the main culprit of extenuating the influences of pesticides is derived from other origins rather than the pesticides themselves; sources such as the disease-resistance of new pests or the change in inside chemical properties of food itself. Simply stated, the role of effective factor of old pesticides should not be vindicated for this case.

In sum, the argument is logically flawed and therefore implausible as it stands. To bolster the hypothesis, the author must regard the physical ambiance of warehouses in which the food is maintained and the environment factor should be scrutinized cogently. As well as, the role of resistance of new types of pests to pesticides is another must. Ultimately, the change in chemical and physical properties of food as an invaluable culprit of this loss should be inserted in the thesis.