The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the

southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have filed a formal complaint, indicating

that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have

reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine

instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term

'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter, the Happy

Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants throughout the rest of the

country."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure

to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the

argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

This memo underlines on the fact that superseding the margarine in lieu of butter to alleviate the cost can be deemed as an effective strategy. To justify this hypothesis, three postulations have been proposed. 1) a number of clients expressing malcontent are trifle 2)consumers cannot distinguish the taste of butter from margarine and 3) people do not represent any dissatisfaction when the margarine is presented to them. Close scrutiny each of these facts, divulges that none of them seem plausible.

A threshold problem with the argument involves the vague number of users. In fact, in spite of only 2 percent of consumers demonstrate reluctant to utilize margarine instead of butter, the total number of persons which are investigated in this experiment is not cleared. Thus, the thesis consider that because the majority of persons are partial to implement margarine does not seem reasonable. After determining the whole number of participants, it can be concluded that this thesis is accurate or not. Furthermore, the range of persons with sundry tastes is not specified in the text, accordingly, this may subsume only the limited range of ages or special taste. To demystify the argument, it is critically essential to widen the range of individuals whom the researchers can scrutinized.

Even assuming that persons do not have the competency of recognizing the flavor of butter from margarine cannot lead to conclusion that the margarine can play as one of substitute for butter to amplify the enumeration. To delineate, the writer underestimates the fact that a wide range of participants can fathom the difference between them but they may not evince their reactions and conceal their attitudes. Based on this explanation, to reach more reliable ramification about supplanting the butter by margarine, the more valid and discernible evaluation test should be contrived. To clarify, missing the customers due to their unsavory flavor may leave the most intense and destructive repercussions in the amount of currency that the corporation can obtain.

Nor does the mere fact that consumers who do not disclose any negative or dissent reaction after trying the margarine can opt for or advocate this replacement. Since, most of the time the consumers do not show their disagreement in order not hate others' feelings. Thus, it does not sound logical to comprehend the notion that the prevalence using of margarine will not demolish the business in the following years. Or, this approach may extenuate the revenue of company to its lowest point owing to the loss of predilection of buyers to eat some foods encompassing the margarine as unpalatable taste. Consequently, not only will the company lose some allegiances, but also it may be predisposed to a fatal recession in future time.

In sum, the argument is logically blemished and therefore untenable as it stands. To bolster the theory, the author must further expand the scope of experiment not only one specific types of persons but for a wide range of persons with various ages. As well as, regarding the importance of concealing the real attitudes of consumers in expressing their opinions about the new taste is not stealthy. Ultimately, that persons do not divulge their dissatisfaction cannot affirm the belief that replacing the butter with margarine can be a kind of cost-saving method.