The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City,

but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years,

continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage.

Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memo states that vice president of food distribution company has recently signed a contract with Fly-Away Pest Control Company for pest control services instead of

Buzzoff Pest Control Company which had taken care of company's past pest control needs. However, the move was based upon high price charged by Buzzoff company as compared to Fly-away. Nevertheless, though the Fly-Away charged less but it destroyed 20000 dollars worth of food as compared to Buzzoff which just caused 10000 dollars worth of food damage. The memo concludes that it should because of this reason resort to their previous company. However, while the conclusion drawn from the argument may hold water, it is based upon several unstated assumptions, if not substantiated, will significantly weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following questions must be answered.

Firstly, It may be the case that Fly-Away don't usually do damage but it may be the result of unintended consequences? It does not mean that the food distribution

company should just resort to their previous company. Everyone deserves a second chance. Moreover, before jumping to conclusions company should investigate what went down thoroughly and then take the decision. Perhaps ask them for concession in price for future services. Nevertheless, if the Fly-Away acknowledges their mistake and agrees to some how mitigate damages done by them and also vows for something of this sort will not happen again then the conclusion drawn from the argument will not hold water.

Secondly, The Food distribution company just assumes that all the fault is of Fly-Away. It may be the case that warehouse at which pest damage occur may be prone to pest damage or the external factors there facilitates travesty of this sort. Moreover, It may be possible that employees working at that warehouse are dilletante which the company overlooked. Therefore, company would be at fault because of these one or two employees of theirs. In that case company might take charge of compensating damage and fire those picayune employees. If either of the above scenarios are true, then the conclusion drawn from the argument is significantly weakened.

In conlusion, the Food distribution should investigate thoroughly before jumping to irrelevant conclusion and explore all their options. The argument as it stands is deeply flawed because of above stated reasons.