The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years in Palm City, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities it appeared that the Fly-Away Pest Control Company provides pest control services has been destroyed by over $20,000 worth of food last month while the Buzzoff Pest Control Company has destroyed pest damage by $10,000 worth of the food stored. Though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, than Buzzoff, the conclusion came to give preference to Buzzoff for pest control services rather than Fly-Away pest control company. However before this recommendation can be properly evaluated let’s discuss some question that must be answered to bring brief conclusion and even one stated assumption might be true so analysing it would also be effective.

First of all are Buzzoff pest control company and Fly-Away pest control company comparable? In other words scenario of one company can be used to predict the other one? It is possible that even though Buzzoff company at Wintervale is providing less destroyed pest damage compared to Fly-Away at Palm City, and there might be plausibility that Buzzoff warehouse in Wintervale might produce less damage than in Palm city due to difference in geographic reasons. There might be scenario that warehouse in Wintervale might be small while Palm city warehouse might be larger than Winterwale and this may Buzzoff company same damage to pest as presented by Fly-Away damage to pest. So by considering this situation the assumption is getting weaken to compare both company without getting into detail.

Secondly, there might be scenario that Buzzoff company and Fly-Away company are quite similar in producing quality but Buzzoff company puts its rate of pest damage within some days of a month and Fly-Away company puts its rate of pest damage within whole month. This would leads to change in assumption due to time interval, even though Buzzoff company is same as Fly-Away company it will get more importance due to showing less pest damage this would lead to harmful for customer. So analysing this the statement is getting weaker that based on assuming only test damage on a month and not analysing deeply.

The states scenario is that Fly-Away is quite cheaper than Buzzoff company. In other words though Fly-Away is cheaper, Fly-Away might not produce same quality as Buzzoff provides, this will lead to big change in services. Suppose Buzzoff provides high services in matter of pest control in food storage and doesn’t let the food destroy by providing long term services, whereas in Fly-Away company services might get less compared to Buzzoff as the food might get destroyed in some time interval.Therefore saving money by getting low quality services is way acerbic than investing money and getting high order quality. So by analysing this scenario the assumption is getting to somewhat true.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed down with several unwanted assumptions and one stated assumption also. If author is able to give detail answer to above unstated cases through proper research and offer evidence, then it may work to add use Buzzoff pest control company over Fly-Away pest control company.