The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies—Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building'sepenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The vice president of a large, highly diversified company recommends that Zeta Construction Company is better than Alpha Construction Company. He showed evidences showing maintenance in Zeta’s building was fifty percent less than Alpha, the energy consumption of Zeta’s was lower than Alpha’s, and finally, Zeta has stable workforce with small quantity of employees shift. The argument seems logical at first glance, but there are some evidences that are not influential as valid persuasion.

First and foremost, author recommends the construction company in present. However, just argument shown, ‘ten years ago,’ or ‘last year,’ is not a fair to evaluate the representative of presenting Alpha, Zeta company. For example, Alpha Company tried to fix their problem on the cost of maintenance fee or develops style of construction. Hence, it is significantly important that there is evaluation of two company’s recent work.

Secondly, Zeta company had energy consumption lower than Alpha. In order to explain this idea, there should be more additional evidences about how much lower energy consumption that Zeta used less than Alpha. Take for instance, Zeta had one thousand energy consumption and Alpha had nine hundred, ninety and nine energy consumption used. There is only one energy consumption difference. But that does not mean that it is valuable to having zeta for constructing building.

Moreover, the evidence is taking about Zeta has better workforce with small quantity of employee’s shift. Author assumes that there is same possible accident caused during construction even though there is little employee turnover. It is commons sense that if workers do not have rest enough, they could not concentrate themselves put out more on the workplace. Little employee turnover makes more accidents. If not, then there should additional evidences that shows Zeta has more interim of rest during work than Alpha, so there is little employee shift.

Lastly, writer talks about the cost; Zeta cost thirty percent more than Alpha even though two company constructs same floor construction. However, in construction, there is always different situation. Author assumes that two companies are in the same situation of construction. Just like difference between Alaska and New York City, there is conditional level of construction such as the rigidity of the ground, the flexibility of the building, and so on. Further, even though two different companies have same floor building, they possibly different in size of building. So writer needs to reconsider about the issues that correlates with cost difference between two companies.

In conclusion, writer, vice president of highly diversified company explains why Zeta is better than Alpha with unproven evidences and assumptions. If author adduces additional evidences and having firm assumption, then the argument will be more valid as persuasive.