The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company. "Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies—Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs.

The construction of a commercial building should have all the facilities and amenities that the company requires. The perfection and types of work required to build such buildings are dependent on what the company wants and what type of work company does. Nowadays, there are a hell lot of construction companies which offer you so many features and offers that it becomes difficult to choose the right one. In this case, one should look at the companies are providing to you and what you really require and then the decision should be made.

As stated by the author, there are two companies which are taken into consideration. Moreover, he has given his suggestion from one of these companies. But, while suggesting he hasn't considered recent statistics and have given a suggestion based on his experience 10 years ago. In these 10 years, the other competitive company might have increased their value in the market and might have overcome the company suggested by the author. Moreover, the author says that the competitive company bids for low cost and offers less productivity. But again, this is the case 10 years back, it might have changed over the time.

The author says Zeta company costs more but provides productive output. The reason behind this can be a more expensive use of material, the number of workers to finish the work in less time, the area of locations, etc. The current project should take all the requirements into consideration and then decide which company satisfies theirs requires the most.

Secondly, the author says that Zeta company's building consumes less power as compared to Alpha company's building and so Zeta company should be preferred. But in reality, this should not be the case. The building built by Zeta company might have less work and lower power consumption appliances. Or even, it might be the case that the Zeta company's building has less number of appliances and also, the daily total working hours would be less. Thus, the author has not considered the reasons behind the things happening. This should not be done and all the aspects of work should be taken into consideration.

Thus, while deciding which construction company to choose, one should first properly note down all of their requirements and then approach different companies depending on their current market value and not from anyone's experiences.