The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours.

Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers.

Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

The argument claims that, reducing work shifts will result in decline of on-the-job accidents. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The vice president of Quiot Manufacturing have come to this conclusion based on the premise that less number of accidents in Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are shorter than their industry. This conclusion relies on assumptions, for which there is no clear evidence. Therefore, the argument is rather weak, unconvincing and has several flaws.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that Quiot Manufacturing plant would get same result as the Panoply Industries. However, this might not be the case as this statement is a stretch and not substantiated in anyways. Perhaps the workers at Panoply Industries may be young and healthy persons where as the workers in Quiot Manufacturing Plant are old and has health issues. Further, People at Panoply could be careful and attentive where as the persons at this industry may be less attentive. If either of these has merit, then the conclusion drawn from the original argument is significantly weakened.

Second, the argument claims that sleep deprivation causes on-the-job accidents. This is again a very weak and unsupported claim as the argument does not demonstrate any correlation between number of hours of sleep and number of accidents at the number of accidents at the workplace. For instance, the worker who sleeps more than 8 hours may be lazy and less attentive than the person who slept only 6 hours. If the author had provided the evidence that how sleep deprivation causes job accidents, then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the argument assumes that adequate amount of sleep increases productivity of an industry. However, by careful scrutiny of evidence reveals that it provides less credible support for author's conclusion in several respects, and raises several skeptical questions. For example, What are the reasons for productivity? How is sleep related to efficiency? with out convincing answers to this questions, the reader is left with the impression that claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In summary, the argument is flawed and therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts. To bolster it further, the author must provide concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a detailed analysis of sleep trends in a successful workplace. In order to assess the merits of a certain situation, it is essential to have full knowledge of all contributing factors.