The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of Quiot manufacturing suggests reducing the working time for the laborers by 1 hour to ensure increased productivity and fewer on-the-job accidents. Moreover, the president compares the accident statistics with a nearby manufacturing firm, Panoply Industries plant, where the working hour is an hour less than the Quiot manufacturing firm. Additionally, the president provide the reasons for their laborers to cause fatigue and sleep deprivation; hence concluded reducing working hours. However, while the conclusion is drawn by the vice president of Quiot manufacturing, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically attenuate the persuasiveness of the argument. Therefore, mentioned points need to be taken into consideration.

Initially, while the president tries to juxtapose both the firm's accident rates, he adds that the Quoit manufacturing firm has increased working hours; however, he failed to provide any valid evidence which will base this statement. It might be possible that both the firms would require a different number of workforce and hence the probability of on-the-job accidents for the Quiot manufacturing is higher as compared to Panoply Industries. Maybe, Panoply industries have inculcated a higher number of machinery than Quiot manufacturing firm. Therefore, the more the number of laborers, the more the accident rate it.

Moreover, it might be possible that the work required to manufacture Quiot needs heavy physical skills as compared to Panoply industries. If the physical work required is greater then it's feasible to believe that more laborers are prone to fatigue. Additionally, if the break time provided in Quiot manufacturing is less, the workers would face the problem of sleep depravity. If the president has provided the readers with the aforementioned reasons, it would be compelling for the readers to believe its authenticity.

Last but not the least, it is possible that Quiot manufacturing firm is not competent enough to provide several facilities to their laborers that the other firm can. For instance, the Panoply industry might be facilitating their employees with several health benefits, proper medication kit, perfect tooling kit (so to work with increased efficacy), and salubrious food. However, on the other hand, Quiot manufacturing firm lacks these qualities due to pecunious finance.

A careful analysis depicts the loopholes present in the argument. The memo does not seem to be strong enough to buttress the conclusion of reducing the working hours at Quiot manufacturing firm because all the reasons provided by the vice president are skeptical. Therefore, the president must rethink and should provide a logical and foolproof solution.